Should Niall McGinn have been awarded a spot kick in Killie draw?

Aberdeen were left aggrieved during Saturday's 1-1 draw with Kilmarnock after referee Euan Norris booked Niall McGinn for diving in the penalty area.

With 10 minutes remaining in the match Cammy Bell brought down Niall McGinn with a sliding challenge, with the award of a penalty looking the likely outcome. However referee Norris booked the striker for diving instead.

Speaking after the match Dons manager Craig Brown said: "I've seen it again and it's without a doubt a penalty and a red card.

"I've been told by (SFA Compliance Officer) Vincent Lunny and (SFA Head of Referee Development) John Fleming that if you feel the referee has made a mistake then you are able to say that.

"I had asked the fourth official to speak to the referee and ask him why he didn't give a penalty and a red card to the goalkeeper, but it doesn't make much difference now as it has passed.

"The league is so tight, the decision is disappointing, but the implications are huge.

Related articles