Raith defender: Kris Commons ‘went down too easily’ for Celtic penalty

Raith Rovers' Simon Mensing (left) has words with Kris Commons after conceding a penalty.
Raith Rovers' Simon Mensing (left) has words with Kris Commons after conceding a penalty.SNS Group

Simon Mensing and Kris Commons had very different views on the penalty which led to Celtic’s opening goal in their 3-0 win over Raith Rovers.

Raith defender Mensing was penalised by referee Steven MacLean for bringing down the Scotland international.

Commons stepped up to slot the ball past David McGurn as the Hoops progressed to the quarter-finals of the competition.

James Forrest and Charlie Mulgrew scored late on to put the result beyond doubt.

However after the game the former Hamilton stopper was adamant the official got the decision wrong.

He said: "I thought the ref got that one wrong - he went down too easily and I know that for a fact. I'm really disappointed with it.

"There was minimal contact but Commons is clever.

"He was doing it during the game and you can see he's a clever player.

"When they go one up they can relax a bit more so it's really frustrating.

"He was doing it all over the park but what you can you do?

"You just hope the officials see it and don't give it.

"That was the pivotal moment in the game. The longer it goes at 0-0 we always had a chance.

"The ref just said he felt it was a definite penalty. I would argue until I'm blue in the face that it wasn't but it's not going to change anything.

"We could possibly have had a penalty in the first half when Joe Ledley pushed Jason (Thomson). But I didn't think we got much at all today.

"If we'd have got that and gone one up, things would have been in our favour.

"But I think 3-0 is harsh on us because we defended well as a team and our game-plan worked.

"Unfortunately we've been outdone by a penalty."

However Commons was convinced that MacLean made the correct call.

"He tripped me up in the box and it's something you can't do," he said.

"You can't trip players in the box. There was definite contact with my right foot.

"If he got the ball then fair enough, but he didn't so I don't know what he expects me to do.

"I said before the game that I would take it, I have scored my last two.

"I think their keeper analysed my penalties too much because I don't think he moved and I slotted it nicely."

Related articles